News / Fashion
Saturday, June 13, 2009
2009 Monte-Carlo Television Festival Winners
Image: © 2009 / C. Wheat

2009 49th Monte-Carlo Television Festival - Golden Nymph Award Winners

MONTE-CARLO, MONACO - The television series "The Bold and the Beautiful" was one of the winners of a Golden Nymph Award on Thursday evening at the 49th 2009 Monte-Carlo Television Festival Awards. The very beautiful Ashley Jones from the series "The Bold and The Beautiful" and also the HBO series "True Blood" gave us a sexy pose in what turned out to be a great fashion shot of her just after her series had won the Golden Nymph award. 

It was a gala evening in Monte-Carlo and the red carpet was rolled out at Monaco's prestigious Grimaldi Forum for television stars from around the world. For we took great effort to report on this international event and the ambiance was truly spectacular as some of America's hottest television stars walked the red carpet in Monte-Carlo past the world's international media. theirEarth conducted numerous interviews with the stars and we will be bringing these to you throughout the next two weeks in our Fashion category.

The Monte-Carlo Television Festival was founded in 1961 by the late HSH Prince Ranier III of Monaco and the Festival also carried the inspiration and desires of his wife Princess Grace to promote peace through a television awards ceremony for international artistic merit that would bring humanity together as one to celebrate. This weeks Monte-Carlo Television Festival carried on a tradition that both of them would surely have been proud of.

Moving to the outcome of the Awards themselves, the 2009 Monte-Carlo Television Festival Golden Nymph Award winners were (by category):

Television Films Category: For Best Television Film - the Golden Nymph was awarded to "The Shooting of Thomas Hurndall" by Talkbackthames of the United Kingdom. The Outstanding Director Golden Nymph was won by the United Kingdom's Rowan Joffe and also for the film "The Shooting Of Thomas Hurndall". Outstanding Actor went to Japan's Masakazu Tamura for his performance in "Ah, You're Really Gone Now". Outstanding Actress had two winners and it was awarded to Julie Walters of the United Kingdom for her film "A Short Stay In Switzerland"; and also to France's Isabelle Adjani for her film "Skirt Day".

Mini-Series Category: The Golden Nymph for the Best Mini-Series went to two award winners - "The Wolves" by Germany's ZDF Television and to "Flesh and Bones" by Belgium's Woestijnvis. The Outstanding Actress award went to Ireland's Charlene McKenna for "Whistleblower". The Outstanding Actor award was was won by Igal Naor for the United Kigdom series "House Of Saddam".

News Category: This years Golden Nymph for the Best News Documentary was jointly won by "Escaping North Korea" by Première Nouvelle, Chosun Ilbo, PallasTV and by "China in a Torrent: The Patient Parade" by Japan's NHK.  The Best TV News Item Golden Nymph was won by Canada's CBC Television for "Zimbabwe Election". For the Best 24-Hours News Programme the award went to the United Kingdom's Sky News for "Mumbai Attacks".

Series TV

Comedy TV Series: The Outstanding International Producer Golden Nymph was won by Elephant Story for the French series "Desperate Parents". The Outstanding Actress award went to France's Valérie Bonneton for the French Series "Desperate Parents". The Outstanding Actor Golden Nymph award was was won by Bruno Salomone again for the French series "Desperate Parents". The Outstanding European Producer went to Germany's Hofmann & Voges Entertainment for their series "Turkish for Beginners". 

Drama TV Series: In the Drama TV series category it was a clean sweep by the TV series "Mad Men". The Outstanding International Producer award went to Lionsgate Productions for the US series "Mad Men". The Outstanding Actress award went to Christina Hendricks also for the US series "Mad Men". The Outstanding Actor Golden Nymph went to Jon Hamm and also for the US series "Mad Men". The Outstanding European Producer award went to World 2000 Entertainment for the Irish series "The Tudors". 

International TV Audience Awards: In the International TV Audience Award category, the Best Drama TV Series went to the United States series "House". The Best Comedy TV Series Golden Nymph award went to the US series "Desperate Housewives". The Best Telenovelas / Soap Opera award was won by the United States daytime series "The Bold and The Beautiful".

Special Prizes

Prince Ranier III Special Prize: The Prince Ranier III Special Prize went to "Damned of the Sea" by Latcho Drom of Belgium.

URTI Prize - The International Grand Prix For Author's Documentaries: The Grand Prix for Author's Documentaries was won by the documentary "Corridor #8", produced by YLE of Finland.

AMADE Prize - UNESCO Prize: the AMADE-UNESCO Prize, which is offered under the patronage of the United Nations UNESCO was won by "Escaping North Korea" by Première Nouvelle, Chosun Ilbo, PallasTVproduction company.

The Signis Prize:  The Signis Prize was won by "The Shooting Of Thomas Hurndall" , produced by Talkbackthames of the United Kingdom.

Monaco Red Cross Prize:  The Monaco Red Cross prize went to "The Shooting Of Thomas Hurndall", which was produced by Talkbackthames of the United Kingdom.


Legal: © 2009 - broadcast worldwide from one IP -   All Rights Reserved  

Theirearth news
08/10/2010  -  Fashion
Jennifer Lopez - Marc Anthony
08/07/2010  -  Fashion
Kelly Rowland - New Album
07/25/2010  -  Fashion
Andrea Bocelli - World Music Awards
07/18/2010  -  Fashion
Tommy Hilfiger - Dee Ocleppo (Wife)
News from the world press